State of play

October 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve managed any shooting and in that time we have finally had some decent rains. Many of my shooting areas were in serious need of water with brown rather than green becoming the dominant colour as grasses and leaves died off.

I awoke to a beautiful early morning and headed out to check my favourite spot. Even from where I park my car I could see the change in colours and sense a new freshness to the area. Gone are the brown hues and crunchy grasses, replaced by vibrant new growth and healthier looking foliage.

But the most pleasing aspect of the morning was the increase in insect life! Leaf beetles and common spider species are now abundant and in a great sign of things to come, I spotted many firsts for the season. Longhorns, solider flies, weevils, treehoppers and march flies amongst others are starting to appear but I was most excited by my first view of a Lantern fly. Unfortunately, the encounter resulted in zero shots (I didn’t get within 3 feet before it spooked!) but it’s nice to even witness one of these creatures in nature.

All in all, it was a pleasant morning which started with a lycid beetle and ended with a stunning flower feeding march fly and a full memory card. Now to go about removing all those dust spots from the images… *sigh*.

I guess I’ll have to just settle for posting one image now to tide over until I get to the rest!

* Click the image below to view a larger version*

Flower feeding march fly

Flower feeding march fly (Scaptia auriflua)
Canon 5D, MPE-65 @ 3.0x, Full flash

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading State of play at Anthony Tancredi Photography.

meta

